View Once is a new WhatsApp feature that allows you to transmit photographs or movies that can only be opened once before being erased.
The photo or video will no longer be available in that chat once the recipient exits the media viewer, and they will not be able to view it again.
View They can’t forward, save, star, or share photographs and videos that aren’t saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery.
Since the end of June, WhatsApp has been beta testing the feature.
It adds to WhatsApp’s existing disappearing messages feature, which was introduced in late 2020.
Follow these instructions if you’re using the latest version of WhatsApp to send see once media:
To capture a photo or video, press the camera in any chat, or tap attach to select material to upload from your device.
In the message text field, tap the new “1” icon that appears next.
Send the message.
The maximum size of a video recorded using WhatsApp is 16MB.
If the recipient has read receipts switched on, you will get an opened receipt in the chat once they have viewed the photo or video, according to WhatsApp.
The photo or video will expire from the chat if you do not open it within 14 days of receiving it.
Each time you wish to transmit a view once photo or video, you must pick view once media.
If the message is unopened at the time of backup, WhatsApp warns that it can be restored from backup.
The media will not be included in the backup and will not be able to be restored if it has already been opened.
WhatsApp also stated that encrypted media may be stored on WhatsApp’s servers for a few weeks after it has been sent.
View once media will be posted to WhatsApp if a receiver reports it.
WhatsApp stated, “You will not be notified if someone takes a screenshot or screen recording.”
“Only send photographs or videos to trusted folks with view once media is enabled.”